The interdisciplinary

research and policy

analysis center

University of Thessaly
The University of Thessaly was founded in 1984. Though newly founded, it has demonstrated remarkable work in the course of its life. Since its founding 18 years ago, it has been operating with 4 faculties, 16 undergraduate departments, 3 elective study programs and 5 post-graduate programs.

The seat of the university, the Faculty of Human Sciences, the Polytechnic department, and the Faculty of Agriculture, Crop Production and Agricultural Environment are established in the city of Volos. Other faculties and departments operate in other cities of Thessaly, such as the Faculty of Health Sciences, which is seated in the city of Larissa where the University Hospital operates in parallel. The Department of Physical Education and Sport Science operates in the city of Trikala, and the Department of Veterinary Medicine operates in the city of Karditsa.




The Department of Planning and Regional Development of the University of Thessaly (DPRD) is the first department in Greece offering an undergraduate professional degree in Planning and Regional Development. Graduates of the department are certified engineers qualified for employment under Greek law.

The department offers a five-year professional diploma, a one-year master's degree, and a doctorate degree in Planning and Regional Development. This prospectus aims to brief students on issues related to their studies. It provides, a short introduction to the Department and the field of Planning and Regional Development as well as a description of the University, its development and information concerning the organization of the department, courses, and the academic activity record of the faculty.
Copyright Seed, University of Thessaly, 2010.